Maps
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

LSS105: Introduction to Landscape Studies  Tags: lss fall09 bertone-johnson landscape  

Fall 2009, Reid Bertone-Johnson
Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/lss105  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Starting Your Research             Print Page
  
 

Using the Art Library

Hillyer Art Library Website
Information about art library collections, borrowing, hours, equipment, and staff.

Location of Art Library Materials
Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.

 

Evaluating Information

Critical Evaluation of Resources. University of California Berkeley Library.
Covers scholarly vs. popular publications, primary vs. secondary resources, authority, and other criteria for evaluating print and online sources.

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply and Questions to Ask. University of California Berkeley Library.

 

 

Subject Reference Tools

Oxford Art Online
The dictionary does not have a comprehensive survey article about landscape but addresses the subject in sections of general articles about the arts and culture of civilizations and countries. It has an excellent survey on garden design, Garden, and good articles on types of gardens (Botanic Garden) and specific gardens (Château of Vaux-le-Vicomte). Use the "related articles" feature for links to these topics. The dictionary also includes articles on individual landscape architects (Frederick Law Olmsted) and garden designers (Gertrude Jekyll). Entries for individuals include biographical, critical, and contextual information. Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources.

  • Art Reference SB469.9.P56 2000  
    Birnbaum, Charles A., and Robin Karson. Pioneers of American Landscape Design. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000.
  • Art Reference NA31.F55 1998  
    Fleming, John; Hugh Honour; Nikolaus Pevsner. Penguin Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. 5th ed. London: Penguin Books, 1998.
  • The Oxford Companion to the Garden.  
    Ed. Patrick Taylor. Oxford University Press, 2006. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.
  • Art Reference SB450.95 .E52 2001  
    Shoemaker, Candice A., ed. Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design. 3 vols. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
 

Art Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait