Writing Intensive Classes
|Students who have taken writing intensive classes should already have learned the following information literacy skills:|
|Identification & Location||to define and articulate the need for information and identify a variety of types and formats of potential sources for information beyond the web search engine|
|at the very least||students will be able to identify and locate the two most appropriate types of information needed to complete their assignment|
|Evaluation||to articulate and apply initial criteria for evaluating both the information and its sources|
|at the very least||students will be able to distinguish between popular and scholarly materials in a variety of formats such as books, periodical literature, and websites|
|Citation||to acknowledge and cite the sources used in conducting research for an assignment using an acceptable style guide|
|at the very least||students will be able to locate the appropriate style guide and emergency online help|
These skills may be regarded by all students as a base for further study. Help is available through the Neilson Library Reference Department's Ask a Librarian options.
What Should Portuguese-Brazilian Studies Majors Learn and In Which Classes?
Upon completion of this level students should
|Portuguese-Brazilian - English Dictionary||Call Number/Access|
|Michaelis Moderno Dicionário Inglês -
Online Portuguese-English Dictionary
The emphasis here should be on using skills the student has already mastered in English (use of a dictionary, word processing, and basic online searches), but refining them for Portuguese-Brazilian Studies. This includes such things as: Portuguese Spellcheck, etc., in MS Word; online dictionaries, and also reputable Portuguese-English and Portuguese-Portuguese dictionaries.
|Portuguese-Brazilian - English Dictionaries||Call Number/Access|
|Larousse Concise Dictionary:
|ref PC 5333 .L36 2003|
|Novo Michaelis Dicionário Ilustrado (2 vols.)||ref PC 5333 .M582 1973|
|Oxford-Duden Pictorial Portuguese-English Dictionary||ref PC 5333 .O94 1992|
Basic Portuguese-language news websites:
|BBC – Brasil||http://www.bbc.co.uk/portuguese|
|Jornal do Brasil (Rio de Janeiro)||http://jbonline.terra.com.br|
|Folha de São Paulo||http://www.folha.uol.com.br/|
|Google Notícias – Brasil||http://news.google.com/news?ned=pt-BR_br|
|Globo (Notícias e Entretenimento)||http://www.globo.com|
|BBC para África||http://www.bbc.co.uk/portugueseafrica/|
|RTP -- Rádio e Televisão de Portugal||http://ww1.rtp.pt/homepage/|
|Other Websites of Interest|
|Instituto Camões (Portugal)||http://www.instituto-camoes.pt|
|Comunidade de Países de Língua Portuguesa||http://www.cplp.org|
|Instituto Internacional da Língua Portuguesa||http://www.iilp-cplp.cv|
|Ministério da Cultura do Brasil||http://www.cultura.gov.br/site/|
|Itaú Cultural (Brasil)||http://www.itaucultural.org.br/|
At this level, students should familiarize themselves with basic American academic resources, while at the same time they begin to specialize their research methods to reflect a deeper engagement with Portuguese-Brazilian Studies. By the end of POR 221, students should
In addition to the resources listed above, students in POR 220/221 should be familiar with the following:
|Print & Online Portuguese-Portuguese Dictionaries||Call Number/Access|
|Novo Dicionário Aurélio da Língua Portuguesa||ref PC 5327 .F44 2004|
|Dicionário Priberam da Língua Portuguesa (de Portugal)||http://www.priberam.pt/dlpo|
|Michaelis Moderno Dicionário da Língua Portuguesa (do Brasil)||http://michaelis.uol.com.br|
|Specialized Portuguese-English Dictionary|
|Dictionary of Informal Brazilian Portuguese||ref PC 5446 .C45 1983|
|Additional Scholarly Reference Texts|
|Historical Dictionary of Brazil||ref F 2504 .L46|
|Brazil – World Bibliographical Series||ref F 2508 .D52 1997|
|Enciclopédia de Literatura Brasileira (2 vol.)||ref PQ 9506 .E53 2001|
|Chicago Manual of Style||Citation Guides & Style Manuals|
|MLA Handbook||Citation Guides & Style Manuals|
|Writing Papers: A Handbook for Students at Smith College||Jacobsen Center|
|Resources in the Five College Libraries||Five College Library Catalog|
|WorldCat, MLA Bibliography, and more resources found on the Smith College Libraries SPP Portuguese Subject page...||http://libraries.smith.edu/research/
|RefWorks||Log in to RefWorks|
|Smith College Libraries Contact|
|Sika Berger, Reference Librarianfirstname.lastname@example.org|
The research skills necessary for POR 280 resemble those learned in POR 220/221, though because knowledge of the SPP Portuguese language is not required, Portuguese-Brazilian Studies resources may be beyond the scope of many students. Still, one can expect that students will, by the end of POR 280, be able to
In addition to the resources listed above, students in POR 280 should be familiar with the following:
|Dictionary of Literary Biography||ref PN 451 .D53|
Disciplinary parameters and the types of works dealt with at the 280 and 300 levels vary broadly according to any year’s topic. Topics may include literature, film, race and identity, environmental issues, among others. Thus, students will be advised on reference works appropriate to the specific topic at hand.
Advanced Portuguese-Brazilian Studies majors at the seminar level should master the research skills necessary to make an original contribution to the field of Portuguese-Brazilian Studies. This requires that students be able to contextualize their claims within current scholarly discourse, drawing upon quotable and reliable resources and presenting their arguments cogently.
Beyond the skills required in POR 200/201 and POR 220/221, students should
In What Ways Will Student Skills be Assessed?
Students completing work on a paper at the 200 level should submit a bibliography in which primary and secondary sources listed reflect the use of the online catalog, at least some scholarly journals through the use of MLA International Bibliography. Students should be prepared to defend the credentials of authors cited if asked.
In 300 level seminars in Portuguese-Brazilian studies, students should routinely cite both supportive and oppositional arguments from primary and secondary sources in papers including book reviews or other articles found through the use of footnotes or citation indexes. The seminar paper might include an annotated bibliography in which students are asked to indicate the source of their citation and its relative value to the argument within the paper.
Using someone else's words, ideas, or arguments without acknowledgment is plagiarism. This is a serious violation of the College's Honor Code. Students should learn to distinguish between "received knowledge" and original work, between ideas that have often been repeated and ideas that are new. They must always identify and acknowledge their sources for everything except "received knowledge," such as dates and facts found in many encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Note About SPP - Spanish Majors Skills
A separate Information Literacy Program Plan has been developed for Spanish majors at Smith College.
draft recommended for approval by faculty, Feb. 8, 2010