Comments & Feedback
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Useful Titles
- Survey of London
Call Number: UMass DA 675 .S87
Each of the volumes in this series is devoted to a specific area of London and includes information on places of entertainment (esp. the history of the institution and building). They're hard to find in the catalog, since UMass doesn't itemize the volumes. See next link, plus the two volumes below. - Survey of London: List of Publications
- The Parish of St. Paul Covent Garden (Survey of London, v. 36)
Call Number: Hillyer DA 675 .J6 36 (restricted circulation) - The Museums Area of South Kensington and Westminster (Survey of London, v. 38)
Call Number: Hillyer DA 675 .J6 38 (restricted circulation) - The Development of the English Playhouse
Call Number: Josten Folio NA 6840.G7 L4
Includes drawings of interior and exterior of theaters.
Encyclopedias
Use scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
- Encyclopedia of European Social History - 6 vols.
Call Number: ref HN 373 .E63 2001 - London Encyclopaedia
Call Number: ref DA 679 .L78 1991 - Reader's Guide to British History - 2 vols.
Call Number: ref DA 34 .R43 2003 - Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: ref DA 550 .V53 1988 - Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age: British culture, 1776-1832
Call Number: ref PR 447 .O93 1999 - Oxford Art Online
- Oxford Music Online
- International Dictionary of Ballet - 2 vols.
Call Number: Josten ref GV 1585 .I57 1993 - International Encyclopedia of Dance. - 6 vols.
Call Number: Josten ref GV 1585 .I586 1998 - Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance - 2 vols.
Call Number: Josten ref PN 2035 .O94 2003 - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: ref DA 28 .O95 2004
A "must search" for biographical information and leads on primary/secondary sources - Women in World History (17 vols.)
Call Number: ref HQ 1115 .W6 1999
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait