Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

FYS142: Reacting to the Past - Henry VIII (P. Coby)  Tags: fall09 fys henry_viii coby  

Fall 2009
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/fys142henryviii_coby  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Where to Start            Print Page
  
 

Find Facts

Always begin by checking books placed on reserve by the Game Master. Then check a couple of the following sources:

  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Call Number: ref DA 28 .O95 2004
    This is the first stop for anybody who has a named historical character.
  • Bosworth Field to Bloody Mary: an encyclopedia of the early Tudors
    Call Number: ref DA 315 .W26 2003
  • English Historical Facts 1485-1603
    Call Number: ref DA 315 .D68 1977
  • Historical Dictionary of Tudor England
    Call Number: ref DA 315 .H5 1991
  • The House of Commons 1509-1558
    Call Number: JN 675 1509 .B56
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
    Call Number: ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996
  • Tudor England: An Encyclopedia
    Call Number: ref DA 315 .T753 2001
  • Who’s Who in Tudor England
    Call Number: ref DA 317 .R68 2001
  • A Companion to Tudor Britain
  • Oxford Companion to British History
  • Kings and Queens of Britain
 

Citation Help

MLA Style

To get help with MLA style, visit the SC Libraries' Citation Guides & Style Manuals page.

 
 

Reserve Readings - The Best Place to Start

The best way of locating additional material on Henry VIII is to read items on reserve for your class BEING SURE TO LOOK FOR FOOTNOTES AND BIBLIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCES. Scholars' suggestions are the vital key in any library search. Below are a few items now at the reserve desk for your class.

  • Thomas Cromwell and the English Reformation - Dickens, A. G.
    Call Number: DA 334 .C9 D5
  • The English Reformation - Dickens, A.G.
    Call Number: BR 375 D5
  • Reform and Reformation - Elton, G. R.
    Call Number: DA 332 .E497 1977
  • The Tudor Revolution in Government - Elton, G. R.
    Call Number: JN 183 1509 .E55
  • The Reformation Parliament 1529-36 - Lehmberg, Stanley
    Call Number: 328.429 L528r
  • Katherine of Aragon - Mattingly, Garrett
    Call Number: 942.052 C286 Zm
  • Henry VIII - Scarisbrick, J. J
    Call Number: 942.052 H396 Zs
    This is the standard biography.
  • The public career of Sir Thomas More - Guy, J. A.
    Call Number: DA 334 .M8 G87 1980
  • Henry VIII and his Court - Weir, Allison
    Call Number: DA 332 .W45 2001
    Great for gossip.
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBruce Sajdak
Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
x2967
bsajdak@smith.edu

Neilson Reference - desk hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email

 

Feedback

What did you think about this library class?

Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait