Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

FYS141: Reading, Writing & Placemaking, Landscape Studies  Tags: leone fys landscape fall09  

Fall 2009, Ann Leone
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/fys141  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Starting Your Research            Print Page
  
 

Evaluating Information

Critical Evaluation of Resources. University of California Berkeley Library.
Covers scholarly vs. popular publications, primary vs. secondary resources, authority, and other criteria for evaluating print and online sources.

 

Comments & Questions

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 
 

Oxford English Dictionary

OED Online
Traces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present. Entries include spelling, pronunciation, derivation, meaning, and usage. 2nd ed (1989)+ updates.

Subject Reference Tools

Oxford Art Online
The encyclopedia includes a comprehensive survey article (Landscape), articles on special aspects of the subject subject (Environmental Aesthetics, Nature), and addresses the topic in sections of general articles about the arts and culture of civilizations and countries. It has an excellent survey on garden design, Garden, and good articles on types of gardens (Botanic Garden), other types of cultural landscapes (Shopping Centre, Monuments), specific sites (Versailles, Blenheim, Washington, D.C.), and individual landscape designers (Frederick Law Olmsted, Andre Le Notre, Pierre-Charles L’Enfant). Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources.

  • The Oxford Companion to the Garden.  
    Ed. Patrick Taylor. Oxford University Press, 2006. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.
  • Art Reference SB469.9.P56 2000  
    Birnbaum, Charles A., and Robin Karson. Pioneers of American Landscape Design. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000.
  • Neilson Reference GE35.E58 1999  
    Netzley, Patricia D., comp. Environmental Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
  • Art Reference SB450.95 .E52 2001  
    Shoemaker, Candice A., ed. Encyclopedia of Gardens: History and Design. 3 vols. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
 

Landscape Studies Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait