Comments & Feedback
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
General Topics/Biography
- Biography Resource Center
Draws from a variety of biographical dictionaries and encyclopedias as well as magazines. - Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes all articles from these core reference works: African American National Biography; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; and Black Women in America.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: the Black Experience in the Americas - 6 v.
Call Number: ref E 185 .E54 2006- Encyclopedia of African American Society - 2 v.
Call Number: ref E 185 .E546 2005 - Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture - 3 v.
Call Number: ref DT 16.5 .E53 2008
Folklore & Religion
- African Folklore
Call Number: ref GR 350 .A33 2004 - Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore
Call Number: ref GR 111 .A47 G74 2006 - Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Call Number: ref BL 2462.5 .E53 2001 - Encyclopedia of American Folklife - 4 v.
Call Number: ref GR 105 .E53 2006 - Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature
Call Number: ref PN 41 .E48 1998 - Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art - 2 v.
Call Number: ref GR 35 .F63 1997 - Funk & Wagnalls Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology and Legend
Call Number: stacks GR 35 .F8 1949 - Penguin Dictionary of American Folklore
Call Number: ref GR 105.34 .A94 2000 - Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature
Call Number: ref GR 72.56 .A73 2005
Literature
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature. 5 v.
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 G73 2005- Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers. 2 v.
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E49 2007 - Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E53 2009 - Handbook of African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 E78 2004 - Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 O96 1997
Artists
- Oxford Art Online Look up visual artists such as the Saar sisters, Edmonia Lewis, etc.
Language
- African Heritage of American English
Call Number: ref PE 3102.N4 H65 1993 - Black Talk: Words and Phrases from the Hood to the Amen Corner
Call Number: ref PE 3102 .N4 S65 2000 - The Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States
Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 H466 1997 - Fresh Fly Flavor: Words and Phrases of the Hip-hop Generation
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 F3 1992 - Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 M34 1994b
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait