Engineering Databases
- Engineering Village 1884+ This link opens in a new window Smith’s access to the Engineering Village platform includes Ei Compendex (1884-present), which is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available. It also includes GEOBASE, which covers international geoscience literature (1973-present).
- Compendex 1969+ This link opens in a new window Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to journals and conference papers.
- INSPEC [EBSCO] 1969+ This link opens in a new window Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, covers scientific and technical information in five main subject areas: physics; electrical engineering and electronics; computers and control; information technology for business; and mechanical and production engineering.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library 1872+ This link opens in a new window Full text journals across the fields of electrical and biomedical engineering, communications, computer science, aerospace, energy, robotics, etc.. Also contains IEEE conference proceedings, standards and added content from IET, VDE & Bell Lab.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Thousands of citations, full text journal articles and other publications from the ACM.
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete [EBSCO] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers all aspects of the applied sciences, including engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.
- Earthquake Engineering Online Archive National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering
- ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Civil Engineering DatabaseCivil Engineering Database Indexes and abstracts over 90,000 ASCE publications.
STEM Databases
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
- PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
- Agricola [EBSCO] 1970+ This link opens in a new window Indexes 2,000+ journals and books, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, theses, patents, and more on all aspects of agriculture.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Authoritative, analytic reviews in 40+ focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals [EBSCO] 1930s+ This link opens in a new window International coverage of architecture, architectural sculpture, city planning, and landscape architecture in 1,000 periodicals. Selective coverage back to the 1860s.
- Geobase 1973+ This link opens in a new window Lists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
- GeoRef [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Extensive index to articles, books, maps, papers, reports, etc. on the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geology from 1933+.
- EIS: Digest of Environmental Impact Statements [ProQuest] 1985+ This link opens in a new window Detailed indexing & abstracting for environmental impact statements issued by the federal government. Each entry includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive & negative consequences, plus legal mandates.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine [EBSCO] 1975+ This link opens in a new window Lists journal articles, proceedings, books, reviews & dissertations related to the development and influence of science.
- Institute of Physics (IOP) Online Journals Contains the full-text of most IOP journals.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window Comprehensive chemical literature database. Requires registration here [use @smith.edu]. See SciFinder Support & Training for more info.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window Science, technology, and engineering research information (articles, datasets) from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Science Librarian
Get Citation Help
Get help with articles
- Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles not owned by Smith.