Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ENG118: Re-visions: Writing (& Looking) Again  Tags: fall09 eng writing identity turner culture  

Fall 2009, B. Turner
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/eng118turner  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Background            Print Page
  
 

Scholarly vs. Popular: How Can You Tell?

  • Is it aimed at a general or specialized readership?
  • Is the author an expert in the field?
  • Is the publication put out by a scholarly association or by a popular press?
  • Does the author cite the sources for conclusions (footnotes and/or bibliographies?)
  • Is the emphasis placed on arousing your emotions or appealing to your reason?
 

Finding Background: Encyclopedias

To save time, use at least one of these sources to get an overview on your topic & suggestions for sources to read.

Name Topic Reference Sources
Alicen "Curing" Christian homosexuals Homosexuality and Religion
ref BL 65 .H64 H63 2007
See articles under Evangelical and also Ex-Gay Ministers
Augusta Adolescent eating disorders & separation/individuation Edinburgh international encyclopaedia of psychoanalysis
ref RC 501.4 .E35 2006
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders
ref RC 552 .E18 C37 2000
Emily Gang & family structures Encyclopedia of Gangs
ref HV 6439.U5 E53 2008
Gangs
ref HV 6439 .U7 K55 2009
Hope Identity formation & Asperger's Syndrome Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
Imani Prison sexuality Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior, Vol. 3
Ref HV 6017 .E53
Johanna Amish Rumspringa & identity formation Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (vol. 1)
See chapter on Amish-Americans
Keji Racial stereotypes & African-American or Hispanic-American academic
achievement
Latino Education in the U.S.
ref LC 2669 .P73 2008
Encyclopedia of African American Education
ref LC 2717 .E53 1997
See academic achievement
Liz Religion in the Serbian-Bosnian Muslim conflict Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe
ref DJK 6 .E53 2000
See Bosnia-Hercegovina; Bosnia-Hercegovina Birth of the Republic; Serbia; Also article on Muslims
Maggie Margaret Mirchell & Gone with the Wind Dictionary of Literary Biography
ref PN 451 .D53 vol. 9
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Marya Catholic Mexican-American youth & culture conflict Encyclopedia Latina
ref E 184 .S75 E587 2005
See article on Catholicism and also Family
Naeemah Racial stereotyping & Latino gangs Encyclopedia of Gangs
ref HV6439.U5 E53 2008
Gangs
ref HV 6439 .U7 K55 2009
Paula Southeast Asian immigrant family culture conflict Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
See chapters on particular group – e.g. Vietnamese Americans
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
ref JV 6465 .E532001 vol. 2
See chapters on Children & Adolescent Immigrants (p. 422) & Family (p. 440)
Sarah Jules Verne & 20,000 Leagues beneath the Sea Dictionary of Literary Biography
ref PN 451 .D53 vol. 123
 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageBruce Sajdak
Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
x2967
bsajdak@smith.edu

Neilson Reference - desk hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email

 

Citation Help

MLA Style

To get help with MLA style, visit the SC Libraries' Citation Guides & Style Manuals page.

 

Feedback

What did you think about this library class?

Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait