Required Research - OED
- Oxford English Dictionary
Call Number: ref PE 1625 .O87 1989
The Oxford English Dictionary is the standard source for looking up the historical development of English words. It is available both in print and in electronic formats.
In Depth Research: Finding Articles
- Words and Phrases Index
Call Number: ref PE 1689 W3
(Use all four volumes)
Feedback
What did you think about this library class?
Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.
Background on Ethnic Groups
Search in the Five College Library Catalog. Select a SUBJECT BEGINS WITH search and try:
* german americans
* italian americans
* any other ethnic group with "americans" or "in the united states" tacked on the end.
* national characteristics french (or other ethnic group)
Or look in one of the reference sources listed below:
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 G14 1995 - Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 H35
Going Further - Using Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Swearing: the social history of oaths, profanity, foul language, and ethnic slurs in the English-speaking world
Call Number: ref PE 3724 .O3 H84 2006 - The Color of Words: An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias
Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 H466 1997 - Routledge dictionary of modern American slang and unconventional English
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .P3 2009 - LinkStone the crows : Oxford dictionary of modern slang
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .O94 2008 - Facts on File Encyclopedia of Word & Phrase Origins
Call Number: ref PE 1689 .H47 2008B - Dictionary of American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 2846 .C46 2007 - McGraw-Hill Dictionary of American Slang and Colloquial Expressions
Call Number: ref PE 2846 .S639 2006 - The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Uncoventional English
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .P325 2006 - Cassell's Dictionary of Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .G74 2005 - War Slang: American fighting words and phrases since the Civil War
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .S7 D53 2004 - Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .P3 2002 - Oxford Dictionary of Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .A973 1998 - Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .T53 1997 - Random House Historical Dictionary of American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 2846 .H57 1994 - Thesaurus of Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .L45 1994 - Dictionary of Modern Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3721 .A97 1992 - Words of the Vietnam War
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .S7 C57 1990
Subject Guide |
Bruce SajdakChat requires JavaScript.
Citation Help
MLA Style
To get help with MLA style, visit the SC Libraries' Citation Guides & Style Manuals page.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait