Start Here
- The Business of Food: Encyclopedia of the Food and Drink Industries
Call Number: ref HD 9000.5 .B875 2007
Use this source to help you select a topic - or for an overview and good bibliography if you already have a subject in mind. - The Atlas of Food: Who Eats What, Where, and Why
Call Number: ref HD 9000.5 .M52 2008 - Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
- Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
Call Number: SCI ref RA 784 .G345 2008 - Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology
- The Food Encyclopedia
Call Number: SCI ref TX 349 .R564 2006 - Encyclopedia of Junk Food and Fast Food
Call Number: SCI ref TX 370 .S63 2006 - Dictionary of Food Science and Nutrition
- Oxford encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
Citation Help
MLA Style
To get help with MLA style, visit the SC Libraries' Citation Guides & Style Manuals page.
Feedback
What did you think about this library class?
Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.
Scholarly vs. Popular
How can you tell?
- Is it aimed at a general or specialized readership?
- Is the author an expert in the field?
- Is the publication put out by a scholarly association or by a popular press?
- Does the author cite the sources for conclusions (footnotes and/or bibliographies?)
- Is the emphasis placed on arousing your emotions or appealing to your reason?
Searching the Web Wisely
- Remember to use the Advanced Search in your search engine of choice.
- Limit your search by domain to .edu, .org, .gov.
- Watch out for bias! Generally use sites that don’t have an axe to grind UNLESS you’re trying to gauge public opinion.
- Discover who is responsible for a web site before you use it.
- Look for the credentials of those whose work you’re using; are they experts?
Subject Guide |
Bruce SajdakChat requires JavaScript.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait