Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ENG118: Riding the Wave, The Women's Movement, 1968-1979  Tags: fall09 eng alves 1960s 1970s women_artists art  

Julio Alves - Fall 2009
Last update: Nov 02nd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/eng118_01  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

Using the Art Library

Hillyer Art Library Website
Information about art library collections, borrowing, hours, equipment, and staff.

Location of Art Library Materials
Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.

 

Evaluating Information

Critical Evaluation of Resources. University of California Berkeley Library.
Covers scholarly vs. popular publications, primary vs. secondary resources, authority, and other criteria for evaluating print and online sources.

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply and Questions to Ask. University of California Berkeley Library.

 

Feedback & Comments

What did you think of this library session. Click here to fill out a brief feedback form.

 
 

Reference Sources

ARTstor, Image Gallery, Hammond, Harmony, Floorpiece VI, 1973, yarnARTstor, Image Gallery, Alice Neel, detail of Linda Nochlin and Daisy, 1973, Oil on canvasARTstor, Image Gallery, Faith Ringgold, Flag for the Moon: Die Nigger, 1967-1969, oil on canvas, photo by Larry QuallsARTstor, Ana Mendieta, Anima (Alma/Soul), 1976, photo documentation of performance with fireworks in Mexico, photo by Larry QuallsARTstor, Miriam Schapiro, Connection, 1976, acrylic and collageARTstor, Judith Baca and others, detail of The Great Wall of Los Angeles, 1976-1983, Coldwater Canyon Ave bet. Burbank Blvd. & Oxnard St., Van Nuys, CA, acrylic on concrete, photographed by SPARC

Encyclopedias -- online or in print -- are a great place to start your research. Entries provide basic facts, images, and a bibliography to start your literature search.

Oxford Art Online
Includes 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present -- individual artists (Faith Ringgold, Ana Mendieta), surveys of major issues (Feminism and Art, Women and Art History), media (Performance Art, Women and Performance Art, Fibre Art), movements (Women and Collaborative Practice, Gay and Lesbian Art), themes and subjects (Erotic Art).
Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources and usually includes links to good quality illustrations available on the Internet and in the Art Resource databases. Be sure to consult the List of Abbreviations for titles cited in the bibliographies.

Art Reference N8354.C66 1999 Sample entry
Contemporary Women Artists, edited by Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Kevin Hillstrom. Detroit: St. James Press, 1999.

Art Reference Oversize N6503.N67 1995
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary, edited by Jules Heller and Nancy G. Heller. New York: Garland, 1995.

Art Reference Oversize N6538.H58 S7 2002
St. James Guide to Hispanic artists: Profiles of Latino and Latin American Artists, edited by Thomas Riggs. Detroit: St. James Press, 2002.

 

Art Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait