This is the "Language Dictionaries" page of the "Find Language Dictionaries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

Find Language Dictionaries   Tags: dictionaries, dictionary, english, french, german, language, portuguese, reference_tools, research, spanish  

A guide to online language dictionaries available through the Smith College Libraries.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/dictionaries Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Language Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 

English Language

John Keogh, 2005, Flickr Creative Commons

  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Call Number: ref PE 1625 .O87 1989
    The Oxford English Dictionary is the standard source for english words from 1150 AD to the present. Entries include spelling, pronunciation, derivation, meaning, and usage. It is available both in print and in electronic formats.
  • English Language Reference (Oxford)
    Abbreviations, etymology, grammar, idioms, eponyms, linguistics, slang, proverbs, allusion, fhymes, science, usage, origins, etc.
  • Oxford American Thesaurus
  • Dictionary of Old English: A to G Online
    Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600-1150 A.D.) of the English language. DOE font required for proper display, see trouble shooting.
  • Middle English Compendium
    Contains Middle English Dictionary, HyperBibliography of Middle English (listing the materials cited in the MED), and Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse (a collection of e-texts), with links to associated electronic sources.

Translations

TLR: Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Group

Profile Image
Neilson Reference Desk Staff
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
(413) 585-2960
Send Email
 
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip