Werner Josten Library

Links
- Josten Performing Arts LibraryM-Th, 10:00am-9:00pm
F, 10:00am-5:00pm
Sat, noon-5:00pm
Sun, 2:00pm-9:00pm - Smith College Libraries
- Dance Subject Page
- Performing Arts Streaming Media Page
- Find DVDs and Video
- Research Page
- Ask a LibrarianAvailable on-site for consultation and reference:
M-Th, 10:00am-6:00pm; F, 10:00am-5:00 pm.
Loan Policies
- Josten Loan Policies
- Course Reserves
- RenewalsOne renewal permitted online or in person (Items cannot be renewed if another patron has asked for it.)
- Overnight BorrowingMost items checked out less than three hours before closing can be held overnight, due back next morning at opening
- Fines & Bills
Overview
Multi-media held at the Smith College Libraries and streaming audio/video available through Smith subscription can be identified by searching in the individual databases:
- Five College Library Catalog
- DRAM (streaming audio)
- Music Online Advanced Search (Alexander St music/video/full-text databases)
- Naxos Music Library (streaming audio)
- Naxos Spoken Word Library (streaming audio)
- Theatre in Video (including BBC Television Shakespeare)
Please note: There are Josten LPs that pre-date 1974 that are NOT listed in the Five College Library Catalog.
Music & Dance Related E-Reference Sources
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineAlso, Josten Ref ML100. Can also be searched through the Music Online (Alexander St) search.
- Oxford Music Online-Grove Music Online (Hard copies in Josten Quick Reference)
-Encyclopedia of Popular Music
-Oxford Dictionary of Music
-Grove Companion to Music - Oxford Reference Online PremiumAccess to Oxford University Press' series of reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance / edited by Dennis Kennedy. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003 Also, Josten Ref PN2035 .O94 2003
- International Encyclopedia of Dance a project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc. / founding editor, Selma Jeanne Cohen. Oxford : Oxtord University Press, 1998.Also, Josten Ref GV1585 .I586 1998 6v.
- The Oxford Dictionary of Dance / Debra Craine, Judith Mackrell. Oxford : New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.Also, Josten Ref GV1585 .C77 2000
What is Where @ Josten
- Course ReservesRequest at Circulation Desk
- Circulating Books / LC classified (Upper Stacks)--Books, playscripts, folio (oversize) books
--A-Z Library of Congress classified materials - Circulating Books / Dewey classified (SC/West St. Storage)Use "Request an item" function in the Five College Catalog.
- Periodicals (Bound)All Josten bound periodicals are located in SC/West St. Storage. Click on above link to access the Storage Journal Request Form.
- Periodicals (Current)Shelved in the Josten Reference Room.
- CD, VHS, DVD, LPClosed stack; request at Circulation Desk.
- Rare BooksShelved in the Ankudowich Rare Book Room (J131). Inquire at Circulation Desk.
- Circulating Scores (Lower Stacks)--Cutter classified scores (V etc.); pre-1974
--Library of Congress classified scores (M, etc.); post-1974 - Treasure Cases (Lower Stacks)Monuments/Composer complete works, etc. (In Library Use Only)
Loading...
