Task Force Assignment
SSW 160/161 Second Term Assignment Details
Use the Laws & Government Info tab to find legislative histories and more.
A sub-category for Policy Analysis, under this "Social Movements" tab, describes more reference sources.
With the Find Articles & More tab you can search for economic, historical, and political aspects of a social problem.
Library Instructors

Sika Berger & Pam Skinner
Contact Info:
(413) 585-2960 (Ref.Desk)
sberger@smith.edu or pskinner@smith.edu
Assignment Details
A 6-8 page analysis of a social movement is due the 10th class meeting of the first summer term. Identify a social movement that seeks to effect change in a policy....
Feedback
What did you think about this libary class?
Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.
Select a Topic & Begin


Browse topics to find an overview & some academic references:
- Social Work Speaks - NASW
Call Number: ref HV 88 N118 2006/2009
Policy Statements, 2006-2009, useful if you'd like to browse policy areas before choosing a movement.
NOTE: Abstracts from an earlier edition are available online. See the print source for complete information. - Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 vols.)
Call Number: ref HV 35 S6 2008
Browse for topics, for example: Social Movements, Civil Rights, and search for specific movements. - The Dynamics of Social Welfare Policy - Joel Blau with Mimi Abramovitz
Call Number: RESERVE HV 95 .B595 2007
See Part I, Chapter 2:
"Definitions & Functions of Social Welfare Policy"
(includes list of federal policy areas and programs)
What is...? (p. 19-29)
Overview of Programs (p. 39-54)
Social Movements and Social Change (p. 184-231)
Moodle Links - SSW160 Sections
Click here to login to the main Moodle page at Smith.
| 1: F. Newdom | 2: F. Newdom |
|
| 3: T. Ross-Perkins | 4: J. Everett | 5: D. Reyome |
Specialized Reference Sources
Use
Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice - (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref HM 671 .E53 2007
Subjects covered include social, health, and welfare rights; civil and human rights, etc. Web version with links on trial though June 30.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements - (4 vols.)
Call Number: ref HN 57 .E594 2004
See Selected Table of Contents for examples of social movements.- Blackwell Companion to Social Movements
Chapters covering several major social movements, and others on theory. - American Settlement Houses and Progressive Social Reform: - An Encyclopedia of the American Settlement Movement
Call Number: ref HV 4194 .B37 1999 - Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Call Number: ref E 185.61 .E544 1998 - Encyclopedia of Disability - (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref HV 1568 .E528 2006 - Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor - (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref HD 8066 .H57 2004 - LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Call Number: ref HQ 76.3.U5 E53 2004 - The Women's Movement: References and Resources
Call Number: ref HQ 1236.5.U6 R93 1996
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait