Policy Analysis
Government Info for Task Forces
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

SSW160/161: Introduction to Social Welfare Policy (Everett, Newdom, Reyome, Ross-Perkins)  Tags: ssw social_welfare_policy summer09 newdom everett ross reyome  

Research tips and links to resources for second & first term.
Last update: Oct 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ssw160  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Policy Analysis             Print Page
  
 

Task Force Assignment

SSW 160/161 Assignment Details

Use the Government Info for Task Forces tab (under Laws & Government Info) to find legislative histories and more.

With the Find Articles & More tab you can search for economic, historical, and political aspects of a social problem.

 
 

Select a Topic & Begin

Find background information and a few academic references for your policy analysis.

  • The Dynamics of Social Welfare Policy - Joel Blau with Mimi Abramovitz
    Call Number: RESERVE HV 95 .B595 2007
    See Part I, Chapter 2:
    "Definitions & Functions of Social Welfare Policy"
    (includes list of federal policy areas and programs)
    What is...? (p. 19-29)
    Overview of Programs (p. 39-54)
    Social Movements and Social Change (p. 184-231)

  • Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 vols.)
    Call Number: ref HV 35 S6 2008
    New web access - click here!
  • Social Work Speaks - NASW
    Call Number: ref HV 88 N118 2003/2006
    Policy Statements, 2006-2009

    NOTE: Abstracts are available online.
    See the print source for complete information.

  • Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
    Call Number: ref HV 40 .C635 2008
    vol. 4, Social Policy & Policy Practice
    [see table of contents]

 
 

More

Question Mark graphicUse Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.

Look for specialized encyclopedias, for example:

  • Encyclopedia of Homelessness
    Call Number: Ref HV 4493 .E53 2004
    ...has entries on "Legislation, Programs, and Policies" & "Issues on Serving the Homeless," as well as history of legislation.
  • Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
    Call Number: ref HV 6626 .E534 2007
    ..has a thematic list of entries, including "Domestic Violence & the Law" and others, with a section on understudied areas.
 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait