Fall 2009, J. Middlebrook (updated Fall 2012)
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2013
Architecture and Building Resources by Topic
Compiled by Jeanne Brown. University of Nevada, Las Vegas Architecture Studies Library
A selective guide to Internet sites on
- building and
- energy and the environment
- landscape architecture
Oxford Art Online
Excellent survey articles on major art and architecture movements (International Style), institutions (Bauhaus, CIAM), the art and architecture of countries and regions, and the life and work of individual artists and architects (e.g., Zaha Hadid, Walter Gropius, Jean Nouvel), building materials and techniques. Entries for individuals include biographical, critical, and
contextual information. Each article is supplemented by a bibliography
of major primary and secondary sources. Many articles include links to good digital images.
"Original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, all of this enriched with a selection of complementary material -documents and audiovisuals- about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture."
- Biography in Context
General biographical database includes listings for over 2,000 architects, living and dead.
- Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006.
- Art Reference NA31 .H32 2006
Harris, Cyril M. Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. 4th ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
- Art Reference NA680 .E495 2004
Encyclopedia of 20th-century Architecture. 3 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.
- Art Reference NA680 .C625 1994
Contemporary Architects. 3rd ed. New York: St. James Press, 1994.
- Art Reference NA40 .M25 1982
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects. 4 vols. New York: Free Press; London: Collier Macmillan, 1982.
- Art Reference & CD-ROM NA1996 .A726 2001
The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice. New York: J. Wiley, 2001.
- Science Reference TH435 .B84
Building Construction Cost Data. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 2009.
- Art Oversize Reference TH2031 .A84 2007
American Institute of Architects. Architectural Graphic Standards. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007.
- Science SB472 .L36 2007
Landscape Architectural Graphic Standards. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2007.