Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

SIAMS 2009: Summer Institute for Art Museum Studies 

Suzannah Fabing & Marion Goethals
Last update: Jun 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/siams2009  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Citing Your Sources            Print Page
  
 

Citing Works of Art

Citations should include the following information (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source) in addition to the standard citation elements for the print or electronic source of the image of the work:

creator's name, title of the work as given in the source, date, location of the work if known, date (standard reference or note citation for the source publication).

 

Citing Works in Image Databases

Citations to images included in image databases (ARTstor, Insight, Corbis, etc.), should include the following (or as much of it as can be easily determined from the source):

creator's name, title of the work as given in the database, location of the work if known, date (database collection).

 

 

Citation Formats for Bibliographies & References

  • Citation Guides & Style Manuals  
    Links to online versions MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
  • Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed.  
    Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.
    Chapter 16.3 explains the notes and bibliography system. Chapter 17 provides guidance on formatting footnotes and bibliography entries for books, articles, online resources, and other sources.
  • Art & Neilson Reference Desk PN171 .F56 W35 2006  
    Walker, Janice R., and Todd Taylor. The Columbia Guide to Online Style. 2nd ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
    Covers humanities and scientific formats.
 

Citation Help

Barbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait