Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

SIAMS 2009: Summer Institute for Art Museum Studies 

Suzannah Fabing & Marion Goethals
Last update: Jun 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/siams2009  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started with Research            Print Page
  
 

Using the Smith Libraries

Moodle
Smith's course management system provides access to SIAMS e-reserves, assignments, schedules, and other information.

Library Hours
Summer schedule for all four Smith libraries.

Hillyer Art Library Website
Information about art library collections, borrowing, hours, equipment, and staff.

Location of Art Library Materials
Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.

Off-Campus Access FAQ
Information about using Smith databases and other licensed resources.

 

 
 

Reference Sources

Oxford Art Online
Compilation of several major art and aesthetics reference sources includes articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present -- on cultures and civilizations (Edo), art movements (Neoclassicism, Bande Noire), individual artists (Kitagawa Utamaro, William Merritt Chase), art forms (USA, Sculpture, Colonial Period to WWI, Japan, Prints & Books), materials and techniques (Bronze, Etching, Engraving), major institutions (Metropolitan Museum of Art, Christie's), themes and subjects (Portraiture) as well as museum studies topics (Museum (Groveart), Museums (Encylcopedia of Aesthetics), Collecting, Display of Art, Exhibition, Kunstkammer). Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources and usually includes links to good quality illustrations available on the Internet.

 

 

Art Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait