This is the "Background/Context" page of the "ESS550: Women in Sport" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

ESS550: Women in Sport   Tags: ess, shelton, sport, spring09, women  

Spring 2009, C. Shelton
Last Updated: Mar 10, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ess550 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background/Context Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comments & Questions

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 

Images from the College Archives


Smith College field hockey team, 1905. Photographer unknown.

View more images at the College Archives Image Gallery.

 

Background Reading and Leads on Sources

Use scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
Encyclopedia of American Social History (3 vols.)
Call Number: Neilson ref HN 57 E58 1993

Encyclopedia of American Studies (4 vols.)
Call Number: Neilson ref E 169.1 .E625 2001

American National Biography (24 vols.)
Call Number: Neilson ref CT 213 .A68 1999

Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
Call Number: Neilson ref GV 709 .S44 1996

Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture (4 vols.)
Call Number: Neilson ref E 169.1 .G7555 2002

A to Z of American Women in Sports
Call Number: Science ref GV 697.A1 E28 2002

Encyclopedia of Sports in America: A History from Foot Races to Extreme Sports
Call Number: Science ref GV 583 .E64 2009

Encyclopedia of Title IX and Sports
Call Number: Neilson ref GV 709.18.U6 M58 2007

Historical Dictionary of the Olympic Movement
Call Number: Neilson ref GV 721.5 .B83 2006

Outstanding Women Athletes: Who They Are and How They Influenced Sports in America
Call Number: Science ref GV 697.A1 W69 1998 & Sophia Smith Collection

Women's Sports Encyclopedia
Call Number: Neilson & Science ref GV 709 .W589 1997

Library Instructor

Profile Image
Pamela Skinner
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
x2961
pskinner@smith.edu

Ref Desk Hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip