This is the "Background" page of the "HST361: Public Health, Race and Nation in Latin America, 1850-Present" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

HST361: Public Health, Race and Nation in Latin America, 1850-Present   Tags: history, hst, hst361, latinamerica, nation, publichealth, race, spring14, zulawski  

Spring 2014, A. Zulawski
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/hst361 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comments & Questions

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 

Bibiographies & Handbooks

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Latin American Studies
A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies. See articles on "Health and Disease in Modern Latin America", "Science and Empire in the Iberian Atlantic", "Environmental History" etc.

Oxford Handbooks Online - History
Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic.

 

General Background

              

Use scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.


Cambridge History of Latin America (11 vols.)
Call Number: ref F 1410 .C1834 1984

Encyclopedia of Cuba (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref F F1754 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Mexico (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref F 1204 .E539 1997

Cambridge World History of Human Disease
Call Number: ref R 131 .C233 1993

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref QH 332 .E52 2004

Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref R 131 .C65 1993




South America, Central America and the Caribbean [Europa regional survey]
Select a country, then look for country statistics/health & welfare

Library Instructor

Profile Image
Pamela Skinner
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
x2961
pskinner@smith.edu

Ref Desk Hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip