More . . .
Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).
For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page
Background/Statistics/Maps
- Europe in Europa World Plus
Long essays on the government and economy of every country in Central and South-Eastern Europe , Eastern Europe, and Western Europe with statistical tables and directory information. - BBC World News: Europe
- Europe since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
Articles and More
Use the
buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator
- Historical Abstracts (1956+) The major database for non-US, non-Canadian history.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1956+) Indexes North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union in articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and more.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (1901+) Produced by the Royal Historical Society, this consolidates over 50 existing bibliographies (including the Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History) listing books and articles. Also includes many records from before 1901.
- Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte: Bibliographie zur deutschen Geschichte von den Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart (1984+) This is the standard German-language bibliography of works on the history and culture of Germany.
Need Help?
Use
Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.
Books
Search in the Five College Library Catalog, using the SUBJECT BEGINS WITH search (not keyword). Enter your country name, followed by any of the possibilities below:
Description and travel (for example, France - Description and travel)
Economic conditions
Guidebooks
History
Politics and government
Relations - United States
Social life and customs
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait