More . . .
Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).
For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page
Background/Statistics/Maps
- Middle East & North Africa in Europa World Plus
Long essays on the government and economy of every country in in the Middle East and North Africa, with statistical tables and directory information. - Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
- A Companion to the History of the Middle East [Blackwell Reference Online]
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
News and Articles
Use the
buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator
- Historical Abstracts (1956+) The major database for non-US, non-Canadian history - including Middle Eastern history.
- Index Islamicus Lists articles, books, essays, reviews on Islam, the Middle East & the Muslim world. Covers art, archaeology, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, sciences, etc.
- RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies Standard index to scholarship in several languages on all areas of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.
Need Help?
Use
Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.
Books
Search in the Five College Library Catalog, using the SUBJECT BEGINS WITH search (not keyword). Enter your country name, followed by any of the possibilities below:
Description and travel (for example, Iran - Description and travel)
Economic conditions
Guidebooks
History
Politics and government
Relations - United States
Social life and customs
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait