More . . .
Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).
For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page
Background/Statistics/Maps/News
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Extensive reference source includes articles on history, culture, politics, biographical information. 2008 edition. - Latin America in Europa World Plus
Long essays on the government and economy of every country in South America, Central America, and the Caribbean, with statistical tables and directory information. - Newspapers & News [LANIC]
Search over 100 regional & country-specific sources with LANIC's Latin American News Custom Search. - Spanish Language News [LexisNexis Academic]
Provides coverage of Spanish & Latin American newspapers and other news services, including the newspaper El Pais. Choose Major World Publications (Non-English), or search Sources by country - Portuguese papers are also available. - Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
News and Articles
Use the
buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator
- HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index (1970+) Citations to articles and other materials on Central & South America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (1935+) Lists articles, essays and books on Latin America; alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
- Historical Abstracts (1956+) The major database for non-US, non-Canadian history - including Latin American history.
- International Index to Black Periodicals (1900+) Scholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications
Need Help?
Use
Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.
Books
Search in the Five College Library Catalog, using the SUBJECT BEGINS WITH search (not keyword). Enter your country name, followed by any of the possibilities below:
Description and travel (for example, Brazil - Description and travel)
Economic conditions
Guidebooks
History
Politics and government
Relations - United States
Social life and customs
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait