Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Smith and the World: Research  Tags: international ciis reference news country_information  

Smith College Libraries' guide to resources by region of the world
Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ciis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Africa             Print Page
  
 

More . . .

Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).

For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page

 
 

Background/Statistics/Maps/News

New Encyclopedia of AfricaAfrica South of the Sahara coverAllAfrica.com graphicMiddle East and North Africa coverAfricabib map

Journal Articles and More

Look for the SCLinks buttons SC Links graphicwithin the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator.

  • AfricaBib  
    Contains article listings in three sections: Africana Periodical Literature; African Women; and Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa. Also links to other sites, including ASA Online: African Studies Abstracts Online.
  • Historical Abstracts (1956+)  
    The major database for non-US, non-Canadian history - including African history.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals (1900+)  
    Scholarly & news articles from American, African & Caribbean publications
 
 

Need Help?

Question Mark graphicUse Ask a Librarian or call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960.

 

Books

Search in the Five College Library Catalog, using the SUBJECT BEGINS WITH search (not keyword). Enter your country name, followed by any of the possibilities below:

Description and travel (for example, Kenya - Description and travel)
Economic conditions
Guidebooks
History
Politics and government
Relations - United States
Social life and customs

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait