Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Smith and the World: Research  Tags: international ciis reference news country_information  

Smith College Libraries' guide to resources by region of the world
Last update: Oct 15th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ciis  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Global Resources            Print Page
  
 

More . . .

Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).

For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page

News

  • World News Connection  
    Foreign news in English translation (late 1990s to present).
  • LexisNexis Academic  
    News coverage from both US and foreign news sources; also includes radio & television news transcripts and wire services.
  • NewsVoyager  
    Comprehensive gateway to newspaper web sites around the world. Look for "International Newspapers" in the drop-down menu on the left, then select your region. You can also specify a title or country.
 

Background/Statistics/Maps

CountryWatch bannerworld map from Europa OnlineWorld Factbook cover image

  • CountryWatch  
    Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including political, economic, business information, daily news, and data.
  • Europa World Plus  
    Long essays on the government and economy of every country, with statistical tables and directory information.
  • CIA World Factbook  
    Statistics on each country's demographics, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues, plus map.
  • U.S. Department of State Background Notes  
    Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)  
    Extensive online map collection of mostly public domain maps, freely available for downloading and use.

Academic Articles

Use the SCLinks buttons within the databases below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator.

  • Academic Search Premier (1965+)  
    Large, interdisciplinary database of scholarly journals as well as news and opinion magazines.
  • Academic OneFile (1980+)  
    Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. Also includes New York Times full text, 1995+.
 

Reference Librarians

Profile ImageNeilson Reference
Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
413-585-2960
Send Email

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait