Smith College Libraries' guide to resources by region of the world
Last Updated: Feb 2, 2012
Use the Libraries' Research page for discipline-specific sources (anthropology, economics, etc.) or for additional reference sources (encyclopedias, language dictionaries, etc.).
For region-specific sources, see the tabs at the top of this page
- World News Connection
Foreign news in English translation (late 1990s to present).
- LexisNexis Academic
News coverage from both US and foreign news sources; also includes radio & television news transcripts and wire services.
Comprehensive gateway to newspaper web sites around the world. Look for "International Newspapers" in the drop-down menu on the left, then select your region. You can also specify a title or country.
Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including political, economic, business information, daily news, and data.
- Europa World Plus
Long essays on the government and economy of every country, with statistical tables and directory information.
- CIA World Factbook
Statistics on each country's demographics, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues, plus map.
- U.S. Department of State Background Notes
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- Portals to the World (Library of Congress Global Gateway)
Links (by country) to electronic resources around the world.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas)
Extensive online map collection of mostly public domain maps, freely available for downloading and use.
Use the buttons within the databases
below to see if Smith has the article you need online or in print - or use the Journal Locator.
- Academic Search Premier (1965+)
Large, interdisciplinary database of scholarly journals as well as news and opinion magazines.
- Academic OneFile (1980+)
Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, etc. Also includes New York Times full text, 1995+.