This is the "Background" page of the "HST307: US-Arab Relations in Historical Perspective" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

HST307: US-Arab Relations in Historical Perspective   Tags: arab history, fall11, hst, hst 307, relations, sbaiti, united states  

Fall 2011, N. Sbaiti
Last Updated: Dec 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/hst307fall11 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comments & Questions

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 

Maps & Atlases


Historical Atlas of Islam
Call Number: ref G 1786 .S1 F7 2002

Historical Atlas of the Middle East
Call Number: ref G 2206 .S1 F7 1993

 

General Background

Use scholarly encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as those below, for an overview of your topic, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and (sometimes) a lead on related primary source material.
Cambridge Histories Online
Includes the Cambridge Modern History and other topical histories such as Cambridge History of Christianity, Cambridge History of Iran, Cambridge History of Islam, etc.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 183.7 .E52 2002


Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref JV 22 .E535 2007

Encyclopedia of Nationalism (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref JC 311 .E52 2001

World War I: Encyclopedia (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref D 510 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref DS 63.1 .E453 2010

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Reference content & commentary by renowned scholars, plus Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps & timelines. Includes Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and other core reference works on Islam.


Encyclopaedia of Islam, 2nd ed. (12 vols.)
Call Number: ref DS 37 .E523

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref BP 40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Culture (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref BP 173.4 .E538 2003

Encyclopaedia of the Qurʼān (6 vols.)
Call Number: ref BP 133 .E539 2001

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref BL 458 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of Religion (16 vols.)
Call Number: ref BL 31 .E46 2005

Library Instructor

Profile Image
Pamela Skinner
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
x2961
pskinner@smith.edu

Ref Desk Hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email
 
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip