Assignment Details
This is the "Social Problems: Background & Analysis" page of the "SSW160/161 (2013): Introduction to Social Welfare Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

SSW160/161 (2013): Introduction to Social Welfare Policy   Tags: newdom, o'donnell, park, ross, social_policy, social_problems, social_work, ssw, ssw 160, summer13  

Summer 2013, F. Newdom, T. Ross, Y. Park, A. O'Donnell
Last Updated: Jun 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ssw160-2013 Print Guide

Social Problems: Background & Analysis Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Policy Brief Assignment Details

An 8-12 page group  paper on a particular social problem is due the 10th class meeting of the first summer term. The problem will be used as the basis for group policy analysis in second term.

(SSW160 assignment details)

 

Moodle: 160 Sections

 

Library Instructors

Sika Berger Pam Skinner
Sika Berger & Pam Skinner
Contact Info:
(413) 585-2960 (Ref.Desk)
sberger@smith.edu or pskinner@smith.edu

Chat requires JavaScript.
 

Feedback

What did you think about this library class?

Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.

 

Select a Topic & Begin

Social Work Speaks book cover   book cover image of text (Jimenez)  Encyclopedia of Social Problems coverEncyclopedia of Social Work
Browse topics to find an overview & some academic references:

Social Work Speaks - NASW
Call Number: ref HV 88 N118 2012/2014
Policy Statements, useful if you'd like to browse policy areas for the major group assignment. Online Table of Contents may help you select a topic area. See the print source for complete information.

Encyclopedia of Social Work (4 vols.)
Call Number: ref HV 35 S6 2008
Browse for topics, for example: Social Problems, Addictions and Substance User, Health Care & Illness, Poverty, Adoption, or search for additional specific problem areas such as Mental Health Parity.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues (4 volumes)
Call Number: Ref HN 59.2 E343 2011
I-business & economy; II-criminal justice; III-family & society; IV-environment, science & technology

Encyclopedia of Social Problems (2 volumes)
Call Number: ref HN 28 .E55 2008
Partial search and preview available (including table of contents) in Google books.

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
Call Number: ref HV 40 .C635 2008
vol. 4, Social Policy & Policy Practice
[see table of contents]

 

Find background on Congressional action for policy issues

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher: Browse Reports by Topic  (1923+)
See sections such as: Education, Family and domestic life, Health, Housing, Social Services & Disabilities, etc.

CQ Press Public Affairs Collection

CQ Press Public Affairs Collection
Find policy overviews with references, and other information about legislation and U.S. federal policy

CQ Press Electronic Library

CQ Press Electronic Library
Search across all segments, including CQ Almanac, Public Affairs, Congress,and more. Find policy overviews with references, and other information about legislation and U.S. federal policy.

 

Specialized Reference Sources

Question Mark graphicUse Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Desk at (413) 585-2960 or text us at (413) 570-0LIB  [-0542].

Addiction: A Reference Encyclopedia
Call Number: ref HV 5825 .P26 2010

Battleground: Immigration
Call Number: ref JV 6465 .B38 2009

Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America
Call Number: ref E 185.61 .E544 1998

Encyclopedia of Disability - (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref HV 1568 .E528 2006

Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence
Call Number: ref HV 6626 .E534 2007
..has a thematic list of entries, including "Domestic Violence & the Law" and others, with a section on understudied areas.

Encyclopedia of Homelessness
Call Number: Ref HV 4493 .E53 2004
...has entries on "Legislation, Programs, and Policies" & "Issues on Serving the Homeless," as well as history of legislation.

Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery - (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref RC 563.4 .E53 2009
Search and partial preview available in Google Books.



Poverty in America: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: ref HC 110.P6 L375 2008
Search and partial preview: Google Books

American Settlement Houses and Progressive Social Reform: - An Encyclopedia of the American Settlement Movement
Call Number: ref HV 4194 .B37 1999

footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip