This is the "Digital Images: People, Places, Things & Events" page of the "THE254: Costume I: Image Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Periodicals & News Media
Digital Images: Works of Art
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

THE254: Costume I: Image Research  Tags: theater theatre costume pictures images smith the fall09  

Fall 2009, K. Smith
Last update: Feb 09th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/the254  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Digital Images: People, Places, Things & Events            Print Page
  
 

More Digital Images

Works of Art
ARTstor & Insight, other commercial image databases

Image Search Engines

A Review of Image Search Engines. Technical Advisory Service for Images. February 2008.
Evaluation of major search engines with image search options as well as specilized image search engines. Includes links to many image sites.

 
 

Smith College Historic Clothing Collection

Note: Off-campus users must log into LUNA to view the images in this media group

"The Smith College Historic Costume Collection is an archive of clothing and accessories of women in the United States from 1800 to the present and from a range of social classes. It is a resource for students and scholars of costume design, the history of dress and material culture, art and literary history, and curatorial practices. Founded in 1979, the Collection includes over 1000 objects; most of these are donations from Smith College Alumnae."

 

Other Historic Clothing Collections

VADS: Visual Arts Data Service.
Includes several fashion and textiles collections among its 100,000 images including the London College of Fashion (paper patterns, Cordwainers Shoe Collection, the Woolmark Company, a collection of garment photos), The Textiles Collection: University College for the Creative Arts at Farnham, and Central Saint Martins: Museum & Study Collection.

Digital Images in Public Collections

These national digital libraries and major digital research collections include thousands of high quality images of original materials in all formats on a wide variety of subjects.

NYPL Digital Gallery. New York Public Library
"NYPL Provides access to over 650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, printed ephemera, and more."

 

Photo Agencies & Other Commercial Sites

Commercial sites offer hundreds of thousands of contemporary and archival photos and footage for sale, though users may search and view watermarked images online.

 

Conde Nast Store
Covers, photos, and illustrations from
Vanity Fair, GQ,
House & Garden, Vogue Mademoiselle, and
other Conde Nast magazines.

 

Corbis
More than 100 million creative, entertainment and historic images and contemporary and historic footage.

 

Getty Images
Offers contemporary commercial and archival footage as well as images.

 

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait