This is the "Background Information" page of the "ENG118: Total Noise - Going Deaf in the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

ENG118: Total Noise - Going Deaf in the Library   Tags: anderson, deaf, eng, fall10, noise  

Fall 2010, J. Anderson
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2011 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/eng118noise_fall2010 Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Help

MLA Style

To get help with MLA style, visit the SC Libraries' Citation Guides & Style Manuals page.

 

Library Class Feedback

What did you think about this library class?

Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.

 

Scholarly vs. Popular: How Can You Tell?

  • Is it aimed at a general or specialized readership?
  • Is the author an expert in the field?
  • Is the publication put out by a scholarly association or by a popular press?
  • Does the author cite the sources for conclusions (footnotes and/or bibliographies?)
  • Is the emphasis placed on arousing your emotions or appealing to your reason?
 

Background - Encyclopedias

Name Topic Encyclopeidas
Christine C. Sports injuries among young athletes Sports Injuries Guidebook
SCIENCE LIBRARY RD 97 .S6888 2008
Christine N. Problems of puppy mills Encyclopedia of Animal Rights and Animal Welfare
ref HV 4708 .E53 2010
Colby PTSD in troops returning from Iraq & Afghanistan Encyclopedia of Psychological Trauma
SCIENCE LIBRARY ref RC 552 .P67 E53 2008
Faizaa Effects of "Korean Wave" in Asia The Koreas – see article on Hallyu
ref DS 904 .K66 2009
Julie Educational resources & charter schools for minorities Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent
Encyclopedia of Education
Laura History of U.S. military gender policies U. S. Military Service: A Reference Handbook
Madeleine Attitudes towards breast-feeding in the U.S. Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
International Encyclopedia of Women
ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
Mary American schools and improving student outcomes Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent
Encyclopedia of Education
Shannon Perceptions of race/racism among America's youth
Youth Activism: an international encyclopedia
ref HQ 799.2 P6 Y65 2006
See article on Racial Socialization
Xiaoye Psychological and biological studies on people's computer and television use Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media
ref HQ 784 .M3 E53 2007
See articles under both Internet and Television

Research Help

Profile Image
Bruce Sajdak
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
NOTE: Bruce Sajdak has retired from Smith College Libraries. Please contact the Reference Desk in Neilson Library at (413) 585-2960, neilref@smith.edu
Send Email
 
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip