Skip to main content

Find Primary Sources: Collections at Smith

Finding Materials at Smith

Five College Archives & Manuscript Collections
Search the finding aids of the Smith College Archives, Sophia Smith Collection, and Mortimer Rare Book Collection.

Five College Library Catalog
Use Advanced Search and limit format to Archives & Manuscripts.

Archives Concentration: Teaching the Archives
Includes information and links to finding aids, web exhibits, oral histories and more in the Smith College Libraries Special Collections.

Smith Digital Collections

Smith Digital Collections is a gateway to distinctive digital collections and online exhibitions unique to Smith College.

The collections feature images, audio, video, and text from multiple repositories and platform. These include the Libraries’ Special Collections, the Museum of Art, the Imaging Center, the Botanic Gardens, and select scholar collections.

Subscription Digital Collections

In addition to the materials housed in Special Collections at Smith, the library subscribes to a number of online resources which include primary source materials. See tabs:

Special Collections

 

 

Additional Collections at Smith

Hillyer Art Library, Special Collections (Locked Stacks)
The approximately 2,500 items in the Special Collections (designated as Locked Stacks in the Five College Library Catalog) include Hillyer Art Library's collections of artists' books, manuscript facsimiles, and rare books and periodicals dating from the 18th century to the present.

Josten Library Treasure Cases
The Josten Performing Arts Library Treasure Cases collection contains collected critical editions, composers' complete works, and facsimiles. Manuscripts of Dr. Alfred Einstein and volumes of the Smith College Music Archives are housed here.

Smith College Museum of Art Curatorial Files
The SCMA's curatorial files document the acquisition, provenance, conservation, display, exhibition, loan, etc. of works in the museum - as well as the history of the museum itself. Contact Kelly Holbert, Exhibition Coordinator, to make an appointment to view curatorial files: kholbert@smith.edu, 413-585-3114.