Skip to main content
got ?'s chat | text | email | phone Smith College LibrariesResearchHelpLibrary ServicesAbout the LibrariesLibraries & Collections

Find Images: Home

Picture Research Sources & Strategies

Find Images: Home

Attack on World Trade Center, New York, Sept 11 2001, Sean Adair/Reuters, CorbisGloria Steinem and Dorothy Pitman Hughes, photograph by Dan Wynn,  circa 1970, Smith College, Sophia Smith CollectionLion, Namibia, photograph by Frans Lanting, CorbisPeaceful ocean sunset, photo by Scott Barrow, CorbisParthenon, South architrave and frieze, AThens, Greece, photo by Susan Silberberg-Pierce, Canyonlights, ARTstor

About this Guide

This guide is intended to help researchers find and use images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections. It covers tools to find images such as indexes, catalogs, and Internet search engines, and provides extensive listings of image sources. These sources include historical and contemporary news media, editorial and advertising illustration, works of art, archival documents, and many other visual materials.

 

What's in this Guide

People, Places, Things & Events

  • Digital Images
    Photo agencies and other commercial sources, public collections
  • News & Historical Photos
    News photo and footage databases, full-text historical newspapers and periodicals, Smith's archival collections
  • Pictures in Print Sources
    Pictures in books and magazines, illustration indexes, important illustrated periodicals in the libraries' collections
  • Smith College Special Collections
    Digital and print materials in the College Archives, Sophia Smith Collection, and Mortimer Rare Book Room

Works of Art

  • Digital Images
    Image databases, images in national and other digital research libraries, online museum catalogs, general and specialized digital collections
  • Reproductions in Print Sources
    Art images in books and periodicals, indexes to reproductions of works of art, Smith's Image Collections

Internet Searching

Using Images

  • Services
    Smith's Imaging Center, Library research help
  • Rights & Citations
    General guidelines, Smith guidelines, image citation formats

 

Subject Guide

Barbara Polowy
Contact:
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
(413) 585-2941
bpolowy@smith.edu
Website / Blog Page