Databases by Title

Includes collections and finding tools for articles, books, background sources, streaming videos, primary sources, and more!

Loading...

Subject Research Guides

Get Help

Smith Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians
Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 
Libraries Service Desk

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Full text archive, 1925-2011.
Trial
Lists articles, essays & books on French and Francophone literature. Trial ends 11/24/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Encyclopedias & other reference works, plus eBooks, images, etc., in the field design & craft studies. Also includes 100+ designer pages, an interactive timeline & other tools. Trial ends 11/5/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Streaming access to 25 premium performances of Broadway plays & musicals. (Collection not yet complete.) Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Resource for the study & practice of architectural design, based on Birkhäuser architecture books. The 850 case studies include text, architectural drawings & photographs; thematic articles provide background on individual building types or explain specific aspects (lighting, acoustics, urban considerations, access types or planning processes, etc.) Trial ends 11/17/17. Send feedback.
New
Consists of five databases:ABI/INFORM; Entrepreneurship Database; Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection; Asian & European Business Collection; and Business Market Research Collection.
New
A collection of digital graded readers for Chinese language learners. Books are available in both simplified and traditional Chinese character versions, accompanied by English and pinyin. There is a built-in dictionary function, listing of competency levels for Chinese characters, and audio tracks.
New
Letters, telegrams, reports, treaties, etc. generated by the British Foreign and Colonial offices. Topics include colonization, border disputes & wars, education, finance & commerce, political movements, economy & resources, relations with indigenous peoples & the slave trade.
New
Letters, telegrams, reports, treaties, etc. generated by the British Foreign and Colonial offices. US materials: Prohibition, World War II, Lend Lease, Communism, the Ku Klux Klan, desegration, etc. Canadian materials: Railroads, fisheries, border disputes, the Hudson’s Bay Company, Native Americans, etc. Caribbean materials: Slavery, trade, agiculture, boundary disputes, health & disease, etc.
Trial
Primary sources, supporting materials & video in disability history & disability studies. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Growing collection of in-depth analyses of key engineering failures; includes documentaries on major failures, books, simulations, news segments, audio footage & transcripts, images, testimony from participants & witnesses, etc. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Historic audio recordings with supporting field materials, 1960's through the 1980's. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Hosted on the same platform as Berg Fashion Library, this component is a unique collection of fashion photographs, taken over a forty-year period at major fashion shows & beyond; also offers related articles, designer biographies & videos. Trial ends 10/31/17. Send feedback.
New
Contains a wealth of primary source material, plus contextual secondary features. Three modules: Personal Experiences; Propaganda & Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
New
Digital magazines newsstand, for use on computers, tablets & phones. Includes Bon Appetit, Consumer Reports, Discover, Ebony, Mother Jones, New Yorker, Rolling Stone, etc. Current issues with growing backfile. Mobile access is available through the download of a free mobile application.
New
Offers almost 100 years of US data, plus a decade of global tracking data. US coverage Includes new data & historical trends at the country, state & city levels, all searchable & exportable. View data by demographic categories and compare results across geographies to develop & report findings.
Trial
Important films produced from the early 20th century to today, from Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films & Oscilloscope. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Offers 50+ reference titles, mostly in Japanese, but some in English. These include language dictionaries, historical encyclopedias, etc. Trial ends 10/25/17. Send feedback.
New
Full-text collection of local, regional & national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920's; also includes several anti-Klan newspapers.
New
Primary source collection on social, political, health & legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities internationally: covers the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, etc.
Trial
Documents the early book trade; the printing & publishing community; the legal underpinnings of copyright provisions; the history of bookbinding. NOTE: PDF downloads not available during trial. Trial ends 11/11/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Military, scientific, professional & personal perspectives on wartime medicine across North America & Europe; focuses on rehabilitation, nursing & psychology. Includes the letters of Florence Nightingale, diaries of VADs, hospital records & Red Cross publications. NOTE: PDF downloads not available during trial.Trial ends 11/22/17. Send feedback.
New
Collection of eBooks related to museum and gallery studies.
Trial
Full-text periodicals depicting American musical life 1838 - early 1900's, through local & international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music & ads. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Includes autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings & audio files; comprehensive representation of historical events as told by the individuals who lived through them. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Scholarly, continuously-updated encyclopedias, designed to provide contextual guidance at the start of research projects on unfamiliar topics. Trial includes four subjects: American history; Latin American history; Politics; Religion; with some free content in all the other subjects. Trial ends 11/27/17. Send feedback.
New
Full text eBooks in the field of palliative care, from a variety of academic publishers.
New
Digitized manuscripts of women's writings from early modern Britain. Includes works of poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, cookery & medical recipes, and accounts. Includes supporting contextual essays.
Trial
"Behind the scenes” look at dramatic performances; covers all aspects of theater production design, 17th century - present, including, scenic, set, lighting, sound, costume & makeup design. Includes primary & secondary sources: sketches, photos, technical drawings, plus eBooks, articles, etc. Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
New
Online learning tool for 30 languages, from basic to advanced; self-paced tutorials for reading, writing, listening & speaking.
New
600+ handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the social sciences and humanities. Chapters can be searched, viewed & downloaded.
New
Digitized prompt books from the Folger Shakespeare Library. Documents key performances, 17th-20th centuries. The books include personal notes, sketches, and cues for lighting & music. Includes curated case studies built around notable performances, with photographs, costume designs & music scores.
Trial
Full archive of this major film journal published by the British Film Institute since 1932. Includes the long-running sister publication Monthly Film Bulletin (1934-1991). Trial ends 9/24/17. Send feedback.
New
Online tool for helping teachers & vocalists refine pronunciation and enhance comprehension of musical texts in a number of languages.
Trial
Streaming access to this preeminent CBS news program, including many episodes not widely seen since their original broadcast.Trial ends 12/19/17. Send feedback.
New
Full-text articles relating to social behavior & interaction, covering gender identity, marriage & family, demographics, political sociology, religion, socio-cultural anthropology, etc.
New
The 1,000 most popular films on the Swank streaming platform; includes both feature & documentary films, from major Hollywood studios, plus independent, foreign and art producers.
New
Trade catalogs, cards & marketing ephemera documenting product design; architecture & interior design; business, economics & retail history; fashion & beauty; gender & domesticity; women as consumers; domestic technology & labor-saving devices; transportation; leisure; health & sanitation; etc.
New
Full-text adult comic books & graphic novels, plus interviews, criticism & articles that document this genre.
New
Contains records of the Women’s Bureau (U.S. Department of Labor) and correspondence of the Director of the Women’s Army Corps. Documents women’s work in war industries, equal pay, childcare & race, and service in the Women’s Army Corps.
New
Covers voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...