Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ARH315: Augustan Rome  Tags: kellum rome fall09 architecture art arh augustus  

Fall 2009 - Barbara Kellum
Last update: Sep 24th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/arh315  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

General Reference Sources

Oxford Art Online
Excellent articles on the history of the art and architecture of regions and countries (Rome, Ancient), cities and sites (Rome), materials and techniques (Marble), individual artists, patrons (Augustus, Emperor), buildings (Forum Augustum), and other monuments (Ara Pacis). Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources and often includes links to good quality online illustrations. Be sure to consult the List of Abbreviations for titles cited in the bibliographies.

Online edition
Art Reference & Neilson Reference DE5.O9
The Oxford classical dictionary. 3rd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Provides "coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity."

 

Topographical Sources

Art Reference DG63 .L49 1993
Example entry on The Pantheon
Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae. 6 vols. Rome: Quasar, 1993-2000.
"2,300 entries on the topography of ancient Rome ... providing an up-to-date account of current research on public and private buildings and monuments constructed within the Aurelianic walls through the early seventh century A.D. Both classical and Christian structures are discussed, whether identified through archaeological remains or known only from ancient or later sources."

 

Art Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait