Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ARH297: Topics in Contemporary Art 

F. Ward - Fall 2009
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/arh297  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

Using the Art Library

Hillyer Art Library Website
Information about art library collections, borrowing, hours, equipment, and staff.

Location of Art Library Materials
Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.

 

Feedback & Comments

What did you think of this library session. Click here to fill out a brief feedback form.

 
 

Reference Sources

Dictionaires, directories, and encyclopedias are a good place to start your research for established contemporary artists. Entries provide basic facts, images, and a bibliography of articles and reviews to start your literature search.

Art Reference N6495.8 .Y68 2009
Younger Than Jesus Artist Directory: The Essential Handbook to a New Generation of Artists. London: Phaidon, 2009.
Each entry presents a very brief biography and several color illustrations of the artist's work. International scope.

Art Reference Oversize N6768  .B83 2006
Buckman, David. Artists in Britain since 1945. 2 vols. Bristol: Art Dictionaries Ltd, 2006.

Art Reference N6536 .W5
Who's Who in American art. New York: R. R. Bowker, bi-annual.
Brief biographical entries and directory information for over 11,000 living American artists, art "administrators, conulstants, critics, curators, dealers, historians, educators, lecturers, collectors," etc.

Contemporary Arts Series, St. James Press
Each volume includes entries for 500 to 600 major artists, providing basic biographical information, lists of major commissions, bibliographies of publications by and about each subject, and brief critical and description essays on artists and their works. Titles include:

  • Art Reference N6490 .C6567 1996
    Contemporary Artists. Edited by Joann Cerrito. 4th ed. New York: St. James Press, 1996.
  • Art Reference TR139 .C664 1995
    Contemporary Photographers. Edited by Martin Marix Evans and Amanda Hopkinson. 3rd ed. New York: St. James Press, 1995.
  • Art Reference N8354.C66 1999
    Contemporary Women Artists. Edited by Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Kevin Hillstrom. Detroit: St. James Press, 1999.

Oxford Art Online
Includes 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts to the present -- individual artists (William Kentridge, Wilson), surveys of major issues, media (Performance Art, Video Art), movements, themes and subjects. Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources and usually includes links to good quality illustrations available on the Internet and in the Art Resource databases. Be sure to consult the List of Abbreviations for titles cited in the bibliographies.

 

 

 

Art Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait