Archaeological Sites
These encyclopedias provide good overviews of major ancient American sites. Article bibliographies list site reports and secondary literature in books and journals.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures

- Oxford Art Online

- Art Reference F1218.6 .A73 2001 Archaeology of Ancient Mexico and Central America: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 2001.
Not at Smith? Getting Books
Five College Delivery/Request Item
Use the library catalog to request delivery of books available in the Five Colleges. Most requests are delivered within 24 to 72 hours.
Interlibrary Loan
Request books and media not available in the Five Colleges. Most books are delivered within one to three weeks.
Books & Exhibition Catalogs in the Library Collections
- Browse through the reserve list for ARH204 by clicking on the "Reserves" tab in the Five College Library Catalog
- Follow the hot-linked subject headings of interesting titles to find more books and catalogs on the topic
Use these subject keywords to discover more books, exhibition catalogs, and other materials on topics related to your ARH204 assignment:
Archaeological Excavation Reports & Other Site Documentation
- Excavations (Archaeology) -- [country] -- [site], for example,
Excavations (Archaeology) -- Mexico -- Palenque (Chiapas) - [name of site], for example,
Macchu Picchu Site (Peru) | Templo Mayor (Mexico City, Mexico) - [name of place] -- antiquities, for example,
Palenque (Chiapas, Mexico) -- Antiquities
Guidebooks
- [name of country, region, city] -- Guidebooks, for example,
Yucatán (Mexico : State) -- Guidebooks - [name of place] -- Description and travel, for example,
Mexico City (Mexico) -- Description and travel
Art and Architecture of the Ancient Americas
- [country, region, or culture] -- Antiquities, for example,
Peru -- Antiquities | Mochica Indians -- Antiquities - [country, region, or culture] -- Art
- [country, region, or culture] -- Architecture
Exhibition and Collection Catalogs
- Publication format subject keywords are:
Exhibitions | Catalogs | Art collections | Private collections | Guidebooks - Combine these with general and special topic subject keywords, for example:
Aztec -- Antiquities -- Exhibitions
Aztec -- Art -- Exhibitions - Combine these with museum or gallery names, for example:
Art Institute of Chicago -- Catalogs | Museum of Fine Arts, Boston -- Exhibitions
Museo Nacional de Antropología (Mexico) -- Guidebooks
Tourism
- Tourism | Culture and tourism | Heritage tourism | Architecture and tourism
Sacrifice
- Indians of [country or region] -- Rites and ceremonies, for example,
Indians of Central America -- Rites and ceremonies - [culture] -- rites and ceremonies, for example
Aztecs -- Rites and ceremonies | Maya -- Rites and ceremonies - Human sacrifice -- [place], for example,
Human sacrifice -- Mexico | Human sacrifice -- Peru - Sacrifice | Animal sacrifice
- Violence -- Religious aspects | Body, Human -- Religious Aspects
- Death in art | Human sacrifice in art
Art Research Help |
Barbara Polowy(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research
Comments & Questions
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait