Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ARH101: Writing Art/Art Writing  Tags: ward fall09 arh  

Fall 2009 (Frazer Ward)
Last update: Sep 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/arh101_ward  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Starting Your Research            Print Page
  
 

Comments & Questions

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 

Evaluating Information

Critical Evaluation of Resources. University of California Berkeley Library.
Covers scholarly vs. popular publications, primary vs. secondary resources, authority, and other criteria for evaluating print and online sources.

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply and Questions to Ask. University of California Berkeley Library.

 

 

Using the Art Library

Hillyer Art Library Website
Information about art library collections, borrowing, hours, equipment, and staff.

Location of Art Library Materials
Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.

 
 

Smith College Museum of Art Documentation

[click image to enlarge & zoom]

Selected Publications

Selected Curatorial File Documents

Contact Kelly Holbert, Exhibition Coordinator, Smith College Museum of Art,
to make an appointment to view curatorial files:
email: kholbert@email.smith.edu | phone: X3114.

 

 

Reference Sources

Oxford Art Online
Includes 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present -- on cultures and civilizations (Rome, Ancient), major art movements, individual artists, specific places (Antioch), monuments, materials (stone), techniques (Mosaic; Rome, ancient: Mosaics), themes and subjects. Each article is supplemented by a bibliography of major primary and secondary sources and usually includes links to good quality illustrations available on the Internet.

Art Reference N7760 .L49 1981
Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC). 9 vols. Zürich: Artemis, 1981-1999.
Standard source for information about Classical iconography -- literary sources, history, illustrations, and bibliography. Note sections on personifications of specfic rivers, for example, Pyramos in "Pyramos et Thisbe" vol. 7, "Euphrates" in vol. 4, "Tigris" in vol. 8, or the extensive section "Neilos" (the Nile) in vol. 6.

 

Art Research Help

Profile ImageBarbara Polowy
Chat requires JavaScript.
Ask the Art Library - Click here to begin


Contact Info:
(413) 585-2941
Brown Fine Arts Center
Hillyer Art Library 121
bpolowy@smith.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Visual Arts, Archaeology, Landscape Studies, Image Research

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait