Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

ANT340: Anthropology of Contemporary Issues  Tags: fall08 anjaria ant contemporary_issues media  

Fall 2008, J. Anjaria
Last update: Mar 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/ant340  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started            Print Page
  
 

Start Here

Find background information and a few citations, either online or in the Neilson Reference Room (level 1 north), or in Science, Josten, or Hillyer for some topics.

Examples of Encyclopedias Link or Call Number

Oxford Reference Online, including
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World
Browse by subject area or reference title, and search for entries. Follow linked references with
SC Links graphic

Oxford titles by subject

 ... the Modern World

Blackwell Reference Online, including
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Browse by subject, explore by discipline, scan "key topics", or search by keyword.

Blackwell Reference

Encyclopedia of Sociology

Encyclopedia of the U.S. in the 20th Century (5 vols.)
ref E 740.7 E53 1996

Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues

ref HN 57 K73 1997
 

Ask for Help Finding Reference Books

Reference sources cover a wide variety of issues, including education, immigration, gender studies, family & children, terrorism and violence, genocide, globalization, health care, peacekeeping, human rights, religion, environment, disability rights, race and ethnicity, and much more.

Try browsing for encyclopedias with this Five College Catalog search for Neilson Reference titles: CLICK HERE
OR Follow this advanced search example for the library catalog. Browse the Reference room, by inserting your own topic.

catalog search example

 

Try it out:
Command Language Searching

 

[wcl=snref and wrd=topic]

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageSika Berger
Ask A Librarian - Click here to begin


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Neilson 1/04
Smith College Libraries
(413) 585-2963
Send Email

 

Feedback

What did you think about this libary class?

Let us know your thoughts. Please fill out the brief Feedback Form.

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait