Comments & Feedback
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Literature
Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature. 5 v.
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 G73 2005- Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers. 2 v.
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E49 2007 - Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E53 2009 - Handbook of African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 E78 2004 - Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 O96 1997
General
Use these exploration encyclopedias for an overview of your topic or person, for definitions and explanations, and for lists of suggested readings. Ask at the reference desk for other suggestions. All are shelved in Reference, Neilson Level 1 North.
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. 5 vols.
Call Number: Neilson ref E 169.1 .S764 2000 - Handbook of American Popular Culture. 3 vols.
Call Number: Neilson stacks E 169.1 .H2643 1989 - Encyclopedia of American Social History - 3 vols. - Neilson ref HN 57 E58 1993
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History - 3 vols. - Neilson ref E 169.1 E624 2001
- Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - 3 vols.
Call Number: Neilson ref E 169.1 .E626 2001 - Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas. 6 vols.
Call Number: Neilson ref E 185 .E54 2006 - Oxford African American Studies Center
The Performing Arts
- Oxford Music Online
Includes New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians; New Grove Dictionary of Opera; New Grove Dictionary of Jazz; Encyclopedia of Popular Music; The Oxford Dictionary of Music; and The Oxford Companion to Music. - African American Music Reference
Biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner note & discographies. Coverage includes blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm & blues, gospel, etc. - International Encyclopedia of Dance (Oxford)
Covers cultural dance plus entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performance, and biographies of dancers and choreographers. - Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance. 2 vols.
Call Number: Josten ref PN 2035 .O94 2003
Covers theater performance from ancient to modern times; also covers dance, radio, film, television, and popular performance. - Encyclopedia of American Gospel Music
Call Number: Josten ref ML 102.G6 E63 2005 - Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop culture
Call Number: Neilson ref ML 102.R27 B96 2006 - Encyclopedia of the Blues. 2 vols.
Call Number: Josten ref ML 102.B6 E53 2006 - Profiles of African American Stage Performers and Theatre People, 1816-1960
Call Number: Josten ref PN 2286 .P46 2001 - Ragtime: An Encyclopedia, Discography, and Sheetography
Call Number: Josten ref ML 3530 .J373 2007 - Tin Pan Alley: An Encyclopedia of the Golden Age of American Song
Call Number: Josten ref ML 102.P66 J37 2003
Biographical Sources
- American National Biography. 24 v.
Call Number: Call Number: ref CT 213 .A68 1999 - Notable American Women, 1607-1950. 3 v.
Call Number: ref CT 3260 .N57 1971 - Notable American Women: The Modern Period.
Call Number: ref CT 3260 .N573 1980 - Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
Call Number: ref CT 214 .B57 & supplements
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait