Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

AAS212: Culture and Class in African American Families 

Fall 2009, R. Barnes
Last update: Oct 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/aas212  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background            Print Page
  
 

Comments & Feedback

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 

Dictionaries

  • African Heritage of American English
    Call Number: ref PE 3102.N4 H65 1993
  • Black Talk: Words and Phrases from the Hood to the Amen Corner
    Call Number: ref PE 3102 .N4 S65 2000
  • The Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States
    Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 H466 1997
  • Fresh Fly Flavor: Words and Phrases of the Hip-hop Generation
    Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 F3 1992
  • Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang
    Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 M34 1994b
 
 

Encyclopedias

  • The majority of encyclopedias and research guides relating to African Americans generally are located in the Neilson Library reference collection (level 1 north) in this call number area: E 184 - E 185.
  • Encyclopedias and research guides on specific topics are located in other call number areas of the reference collection. For example: HQ = The Family, Marriage & Women (including African-American); HM = Sociology (including African-American); etc.
  • When starting research in a specific discipline (film, psychology, economics, sociology, anthropology, etc.), please ask a reference librarian for help. S/he can suggest many sources beyond those listed below.
  • Or, try searching for them yourself in the online catalog using Subject Keywords; for example: sociology encyclopedias.
  • Use these sources for background information and a list of suggested readings.
 

Library Instructor

Profile ImagePamela Skinner
Chat requires JavaScript.


Contact Info:
x2961
pskinner@smith.edu

Ref Desk Hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait