Comments & Feedback
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Dictionaries
- African Heritage of American English
Call Number: ref PE 3102.N4 H65 1993 - Black Talk: Words and Phrases from the Hood to the Amen Corner
Call Number: ref PE 3102 .N4 S65 2000 - The Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States
Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 H466 1997 - Fresh Fly Flavor: Words and Phrases of the Hip-hop Generation
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 F3 1992 - Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 M34 1994b
Encyclopedias
- The majority of encyclopedias and research guides relating to African Americans generally are located in the Neilson Library reference collection (level 1 north) in this call number area: E 184 - E 185.
- Encyclopedias and research guides on specific topics are located in other call number areas of the reference collection. For example: HQ = The Family, Marriage & Women (including African-American); HM = Sociology (including African-American); etc.
- When starting research in a specific discipline (film, psychology, economics, sociology, anthropology, etc.), please ask a reference librarian for help. S/he can suggest many sources beyond those listed below.
- Or, try searching for them yourself in the online catalog using Subject Keywords; for example: feminism encyclopedias.
- Use these sources for background information and a list of suggested readings.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas (6 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E54 2006- Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes all articles from these core reference works: African American National Biography; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; and Black Women in America. - Encyclopedia of African American Society (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E546 2005 - Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Call Number: ref BL 2462.5 .E53 2001 - Battleground: Women, Gender, and Sexuality (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref HQ 1115 .B38 2008 - The Women's Movement Toda: An Encyclopedia of Third-wave Feminism (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref HQ 1115 .W644 2006 - Women's Studies Encyclopedia (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref HQ 1115 .W645 1999 - Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature. (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 G73 2005 - Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers. (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E49 2007 - Handbook of African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 E78 2004 - Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 O96 1997
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait