Comments & Feedback
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
OED
- Oxford English Dictionary The major English-language covering both historical and current usage.
Encyclopedias
- The majority of encyclopedias and research guides relating to African Americans generally are located in the Neilson Library reference collection (level 1 north) in this call number area: E 184 - E 185.
- Encyclopedias and research guides on specific topics are located in other call number areas of the reference collection. For example: PS = American literature (including African-American); BL = religion (including African-American); etc.
- When starting research in a specific discipline (literature, film, philosophy, psychology, economics, sociology, anthropology, etc.), please ask a reference librarian for help. S/he can suggest many sources beyond those listed below.
- Or, try searching for them yourself in the online catalog using Subject Keywords; for example: sociology encyclopedias.
- Use these sources for background information and a list of suggested readings.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas (6 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E54 2006- Encyclopedia of African American Society (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E546 2005 - Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes all articles from these core reference works: African American National Biography; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; and Black Women in America. - SPECIAL TOPICS:
- Color of Words
Call Number: ref E 184.A1 H466 1997 - Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 M34 1994b - Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref DT 16.5 .E53 2008 - Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895 (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E545 2006 - Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration (3 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185.6 .E54 2006 - Jim Crow Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185.61 .J53 2008 - Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation
Call Number: ref LC 212.52 .R34 1998 - Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Call Number: ref BL 2462.5 .E53 2001 - Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 G73 2005 - Writing African American Women: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 W756 2006 - Reel Black Talk: A Sourcebook of 50 American Filmmakers
Call Number: ref PN 1998.2 .M66 1997
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait