Comments & Feedback
Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.
Dictionaries
- African Heritage of American English
Call Number: ref PE 3102.N4 H65 1993 - Black Talk: Words and Phrases from the Hood to the Amen Corner
Call Number: ref PE 3102 .N4 S65 2000 - The Color of Words: An Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Ethnic Bias in the United States
Call Number: ref E 184 .A1 H466 1997 - Fresh Fly Flavor: Words and Phrases of the Hip-hop Generation
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 F3 1992 - Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang
Call Number: ref PE 3727 .N4 M34 1994b
Encyclopedias
Use these sources for background information and a list of suggested readings.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas (6 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E54 2006- Oxford African American Studies Center
Includes all articles from these core reference works: African American National Biography; Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; and Black Women in America. - African American Dramatists: An A-to-Z Guide
Call Number: ref PS 338.N4 A69 2004 - Encyclopedia of African American Artists
Call Number: Hillyer Art ref N 6538.N5 J44 2009 - Encyclopedia of African American Society (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref E 185 .E546 2005 - Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers. (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E49 2007 - Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions
Call Number: ref BL 2462.5 .E53 2001 - Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153.N5 E53 2009 - Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance (2 vols.)
Call Number: ref NX 512.3.A35 E53 2004 - Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Literature. (5 vols.)
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 G73 2005 - Handbook of African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 E78 2004 - Oxford Art Online
Covers art movements, media & materials, themes & subjects, specific places and artists. - Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Call Number: ref PS 153 .N5 O96 1997 - Oxford Music Online
Includes jazz and popular music. - Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: ref PN 451 .D53
Use the index in the last volume to look up a specific writer. Or browse these volumes: Afro-American Writers before the Harlem Renaissance (v. 50); Afro-American writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940 (v. 51); Afro-American writers, 1940-1955 (v. 76); Afro-American Fiction Writers after 1955 (v. 33); Afro-American Writers after 1955: Dramatists and Prose Writers (v. 38); and Afro-American poets since 1955 (v. 41).
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait