This is the "Background" page of the "AMS202: Methods in American Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

AMS202: Methods in American Studies   Tags: american_studies, ams, garcia, methods, spring11  

Spring 2011, M. Garcia
Last Updated: Dec 7, 2011 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/AMS202_Garcia Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Background Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comments & Feedback

Click here to provide feedback on this library session and follow up with any questions about topics covered in the class.

 

Borderlands, the West, etc.

Use these encyclopedias for a background, context, and a list of suggested readings. Ask at the reference desk for other suggestions. The print encyclopedias are shelved in Reference, Neilson Level 1 North.

Encyclopedia of the American West - 4 vols.
Call Number: ref F 591 .E485 1996

Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West - 2 vols.
Call Number: ref HB 1965 .E53 2006

Cover Art
The Borderlands: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Politics on the U.S.-Mexico Divide
Call Number: ref F 786 .B74 2008

Cover Art
The Mexican American Experience: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: ref E 184.M5 M4535 2003


Encyclopedia of the North American Free Trade Agreement, the New American Community, and Latin-American Trade
Call Number: ref HC 94 .R668 1995

 

Social & Cultural History, Ethnicity, the Arts, etc.

 

(Currier & Ives)

Use these encyclopedias for a background, context, and a list of suggested readings. Ask at the reference desk for other suggestions. The print encyclopedias are shelved in Reference, Neilson Level 1 North.

Encyclopedia of American Studies - 4 vols.
Call Number: ref E 169.1 .E625 2001

Encyclopedia of American Social History - 3 vols.
Call Number: Neilson ref HN 57 E58 1993

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History - 3 vols.
Call Number: ref E 169.1 E624 2001

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century - 3 vols.
Call Number: ref E 169.1 .E626 2001

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century - 5 vols.
Call Number: ref E 740.7 .E53 1996

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Call Number: ref E 184.A1 H35


St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - 5 vols.
Call Number: ref E 169.1 .S764 2000
Consult the better predecessor, too: Handbook of American Popular Culture (3 vols.) - Neilson stacks E 169.1 .H2643 1989

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Lengthy literary biographies covering authors, historians, journalists, playwrights, etc.

Oxford Art Online
Articles on every aspect of the visual arts--painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography--from prehistory to the present day. Includes links to images.


Library Instructor

Profile Image
Pamela Skinner
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
x2961
pskinner@smith.edu

Ref Desk Hours
(413) 585-2960
Send Email
 
footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip